To Debbie Brown, Wherever She May Be

To Debbie Brown, Wherever She May Be

By Richard Mabey Jr.

I wrote this poem when I was 20 years old in the Summer of 1974. I was living in Spartanburg, South Carolina in the famous Spartan Villa Apartments. I was nearing the completion of my first year of chiropractic college.

Debbie Brown lived in the apartment across from me. She had long blonde hair. She had blue eyes. Simply put, she was beautiful. Debbie was older than me. She was 25. We dated during the summer of 1974. In early September of 1974, on the morning of my 21st birthday, she told me she had found another man. Nice birthday present.

I confess that today I did do some slight editing of this poem.

Alas, here is my poem that I wrote in the Summer of 1974.

To Debbie Brown, Wherever She May Be

Trapped in murky stagnant water,

my spirit is low.

Long lost the desire to fight her,

the love hath lost its flow.

 

Empty stores with remembrances,

bring her back in my imagination.

In romantic, slow dances,

lost in the depth of infatuation.

 

She touched me when

I needed her touch

way back then

I needed her so very much.

 

Pretensions shed

in a long walk.

In quiet bed

with low talk.

 

In her dimly lit bedroom,

by the moon’s soft light.

Like the sweep of a broom,

love’s depth took flight.

 

And us, by each other’s side,

the darkness of the night,

the gap becoming wide,

and love promises doth take flight.

 

And she looked me in the eye,

and simply said,

with a deep regretful sigh,

“another man now knows my bed.”

This entry was posted in 1974, Broken Heart, Debbie Brown, Destiny, Friendship, From boyhood to manhood, Happy Birthday!, Journey to Truth, Love Poems, Love Story, Moving On, Romance, Sherman College of Chiropractic, Spartan Villa Apartments, Spartanburg, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To Debbie Brown, Wherever She May Be

  1. Beautiful, but bittersweet. Life is often like that when it comes to romance. But I know you have some great memories. Big Hugs, pal.

  2. Arcturas, Today I was thinking about my antithesis. The chap who gets a job, right out of college as an accountant at Amalgamated Consolidated. He works there for a year or two, then marries his high school sweetheart. They have three kids. The fellow works at Amalgamated for 40 years and retires with a sweet pension deal. Not all of us get to live the American Dream. Some of us ride the roller coaster of a lifetime, in reference to romance and career. Thank you so much for all of your kind support of my blog. Your pal, Richard

Leave a Reply

