Remembering Gidget’s Love for Snow

Gidget walking in the snow, along the woods edge of Earl’s Meadow.

Remembering Gidget’s Love for Snow

By Richard Mabey Jr.

Gidget was my Shetland Sheepdog from 1983 till 1996. She was a beautiful Sheltie. She was very loyal, very smart, and she simply loved the snow! It was uncanny. Gidget knew when it was snowing outside. It was as if she had a sixth sense about snow. And, she truly loved the snow.

Behind our backyard in Lincoln Park, was a big open field. It was a little more than an acre in size. Gidget loved to walk around in snow in the big open field. Then at times, she loved to walk the trail on the eastern side of Earl’s Meadow. Gidget just simply loved the snow.

Gidget resting in the snow, along the woods edge of Earl’s Meadow.

Gidget was such a tough-minded dog. The wind would howl. The snow would dance along the surface of the open field. The snow would fly into Gidget’s face. But it never seemed to bother her. She would just keep walking around the open field. I remember that she would walk around the open field for about 15 minutes or so. Then she would look at the path at the forest edge. Gidget would look up to me as if to say, “let’s take a walk in the woods!” When Gidget gave you that look, you just could not refuse her.

Gidget had such a spring in her step. Sometimes I would let go of her lead and let her walk along the wooded trail without having me hanging onto her lead. She loved that. She loved that sense of freedom. I would unhook her lead from her collar and she would give out a sweet little yip, as if to stay “thank you.” Gidget was such a funny dog. I loved her.

From time to time, I’ll dream that once again Gidget and I are walking in the snow, along that wooded trail. The dream will be so real. I’ll awaken and I can feel the presence of Gidget at the foot of my bed. All I am saying is that it is eerie, how real it all is. That’s all I’m saying.

Gidget went to Rainbow Bridge in 1996. I still think of her often. She was such a wonderful dog. She was so fun loving. I can still see her kicking the snow in the air with such a joyful air about her. Simply put, Gidget was one in a million. I miss her very much.

Right now, I don’t have a dog. I have two wonderful cats. A tuxedo cat named Figaro. And, a calico named Lady Bug. They are two sweet, kind cats. Even in light of what great pets they are, I still miss having a dog. I’m just hoping that Figaro and Lady Bug don’t read this blog!

This entry was posted in 1983, Acts of Kindness, Believe in yourself!, Compassion, Destiny, Determination, Divine Protection, Dreams, Earl's Meadow, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Gidget, Giving, Kindness, Life's Dreams, Lincoln Park, Mabey Homestead, Memory, New Jersey, NJ, Nostalgia, Old Beavertown, Small Town America, Snow, Stand Tall, The Unexplained, Winter, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembering Gidget’s Love for Snow

  1. Reading your blog reminded me of my dog Spot; he loved the snow, too. He was part Beagle, so he was not exactly an energetic dog at times, but when he was outside in the snow, he would run and jump like a gazelle. It was a mad and wonderful scene. Thank you for writing this blog and bring back such good memories.

    • Dear Arcturas, You are so very welcome. Thank you for all your kind support of my blog. Writing a blog is a lonely kind of a thing, at best. Your support and kind words are greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

