Farewell Bailey

My best friend, Bailey.

Farewell Bailey

By Richard Mabey Jr.

This is a most simple tale. A simple blog. As I write this blog, tears fill my eyes. For today, I said farewell to two of my best friends, Bella and Bailey. Two of the cutest cockapoo dogs you could ever imagine.

Bailey, Bella and myself going for a golf cart ride.

Bailey is six years old and Bella is three years old. Their owner, Marilyn, was my next door neighbor. Today, Marilyn and her two cute pups moved away. I often walked Bailey while Marilyn walked Bella. Practically every day, I walked Bailey in the morning and in the evening. I would often take the pups for a golf cart ride.

Bailey and Bella in their front yard.

Today, at high noon. I knelt down beneath Bailey’s big oak tree. Bailey came running to me. I was crying. I knew it would be the last time I would ever see him. Normally he sits down and puts up his left paw to shake my hand.

Bailey at his backdoor, waiting for me to take him for a walk.

Today, he put both of his front paws on my shoulder, to hug me. I simply said “I love you Bailey. I will always love you.”

Bailey taking a break from playing fetch with me, in his living room.

Bailey looked me straight in the eye and jumped up with his hind legs to get a better grip of his hug on me. He then licked me all over my face. I held the little pup for about a minute.

Bailey on his couch.

Marilyn was by her car. I had already said goodbye to Bella. Marilyn opened the front door of her car. She called Bailey. Bailey looked me square in the eye and then ran to Marilyn. Bailey then jumped into Marilyn’s car. Bella was already in the car.

Bailey on his favorite chair.

Marilyn waved goodbye. She got in her car and drove off. And that was that.

This entry was posted in Acts of Kindness, Bailey, Be Strong!, Believe in yourself!, Broken Heart, Compassion, Destiny, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Friendship, Gated Community, Giving, Humility, Journey to Truth, Kindness, Love one another, Love Story, Moving On, Sacrifice, Spiritual Lesson, Stand Tall, To thine own self be true., Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Farewell Bailey

  1. Moon says:

    I’m so sorry they are gone Richard,I know you really loved Bailey and Bella.They lost a dear friend today too.

    • My dear friend Moon,
      Thank you. There is a sadness residing in my heart right now, that echoes with an emptiness that has left me feeling so hollow and so empty. Thank you my good friend.
      With all the respect that I can muster in my heart,
      Richard

  2. Its hard saying goodbye to them. You made a big difference in there life while they were around.

Leave a Reply

