For Debbie Forge, Wherever She May Be

1

O’ remembrance of another time and another place. O’ remembrance of a dear and sweet lost love.

For Debbie Forge, Wherever She May Be

By Richard Mabey Jr.

I started working at Amalgamated Consolidated Telecommunications Corporation in January of 1989. I was 35 years old. I started out as a proofreader then worked my way up to be a copy writer. In the beginning of September of 1989, Debbie Forge began working at ACTC. Her cubicle was just one cubicle away from mine.

Debbie Forge was single. She had light brown hair, brown eyes, a little ski jump nose, a cute face and a most contagious laugh. Long and short of it, I have to confess that I was quite smitten with her. The problem was interoffice dating was frowned upon at ACTC. And, I had to get the nerve up to ask Debbie out. Plus, I would have to keep it cool so that nobody knew. No small task at all.

The days went by, the weeks went by. Every morning, driving to work from Lincoln Park to Morristown, I gave myself a pep talk that today was going to be the day that I was going to ask Debbie for lunch. And, then as each work day came to a conclusion, I felt badly because I hadn’t gotten the nerve to ask Debbie for lunch.

1b-richard-att

Debbie Forge would often stop in at my cubicle and talk with me. Time and after time, I kept losing the courage to ask her to lunch. Debbie would stand on the left hand side of my computer screen and talk to me about everything from the weather to national politics.

Normally, I would have no problem asking a lady for lunch. But I don’t know what it was with Debbie. I was so taken with her that I would lose my nerve, at every chance I had, to ask her for lunch. Debbie would often stop in my cubicle and talk with me. I would try to get the courage to ask her for lunch, but time and time again, I would lose my nerve.

2

One of my all-time favorite actresses, Sandy Dennis, from a scene in the 1968 movie, “Sweet November.”

Debbie looked a lot like Sandy Dennis, who starred in the 1968 film, “Sweet November.” She reminded me of Sandy Dennis a lot. Debbie had such a free spirit attitude. She was fun loving. She had a great sense of humor. She had the most contagious laugh that you could ever imagine.

Well, lo and behold, one Friday afternoon in late October, about three o’clock, Debbie came into my cubicle. She was not smiling as she usually did when she came into my cubicle. In fact, I remember very well that she had a very serious expression on her face. She stood there on the left hand side of my computer screen, as she had done dozens upon dozens of times. She folded her arms. She spoke with a rather harsh tone. Absent was Debbie’s musical tone in her voice.

“Look Richard, tomorrow I want to see this play that’s playing Off-Broadway. It’s closing this weekend. Here’s my phone number. Call me tonight if you want to go with me. Okay. You got it,” Debbie emphatically said to me as she handed me a little piece of scratch paper, turned around and walked out of my cubicle.

Needless to say, I did call Debbie as soon as I got home that Friday afternoon. Needless to say, Debbie and I did go to see that Off-Broadway play. Debbie and I dated for nearly a year after that. We kept it top secret and never told anyone at work.

97

My dear friend Debbie Forge left me in the summer of 1990, I was never to see her again.

Sadly, we broke up in the late summer of 1990. After that, I never saw Debbie Forge again. Plain and simple, she broke my heart. I often think of her. I often wonder how she is doing. I know this may sound strange, sometimes I wonder if she is still on this side of Heaven.

98

For many of us, the journey to find true love is a rocky road.

I secretly envy men who marry their high school sweethearts and stay happily married. That doesn’t happen for everyone. For some of us, it’s a series of romantic eras, followed by traumatic break ups, only to be followed by yet another romantic era, followed by another traumatic break up. I would have given the earth to marry my high school sweetheart. But, alas, it didn’t happen for me. For me, the journey of love, was a bit of a rocky road.

99

To all the single people out there, hold dear to the hope of finding true love.

To all the single young people out there, and to all the single people young at heart, never give up on your quest to find true love. Never give up. Hold dear to romantic hope. You just never know what tomorrow may bring.

This entry was posted in 1989, Amalgamated Consolidated, AT&T, Be Strong!, Believe in yourself!, Broken Heart, Compassion, Debbie Forge, Destiny, Determination, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Friendship, Giving, Humility, Journey to Truth, Life's Dreams, Love one another, Love Story, Memory, Moving On, Never give up!, New Jersey, Romance, Spiritual Lesson, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

