The Blessing of Purpose

Dicky Jim

The Blessing of Purpose

By Richard Mabey Jr.

From very early childhood, I was dearly blessed by my parents who engrained in my heart and soul that I had an important purpose in my life. The good Lord gave me a loving Mom and a strong Dad. Both of them instilled in me the importance of seeing worth in myself.

I think it was when I was about two years old, Mom enrolled me in Sunday School. And, from my days of very early childhood, my mom would read Bible stories to me before I went to bed each night. From a very early age, I had this sense of the existence of a Divine One, who provides guidance and protection in our lives.

I was a very sensitive child, extremely shy. My mom told me that from the time that I was about two years old, I had this natural talent for story telling. At that early age, my mom told me that I would sit at the kitchen table and draw stick figures and tell her the story behind the series of stick figure drawings.

Also, my dear mom told me that I would spend hours upon hours looking at the pictures of my Little Golden Books. I would tell my mom a story, based upon the different pictures on each page of the Little Golden Book that I was looking at.

My mom taught me, at a very early age, the importance of looking my best and dressing well, especially for Sunday School. There was the bow tie, the ironed shirt, the suit jacket and of course an ample supply of O’Dell’s Hair Training Cream in my neatly combed hair. I remember my mom telling me that it’s important to look your best for Sunday School, that it was one way to honor the good Lord.

Over the years, I’ve received a few compliments on my writing style. Deep in my heart, I know that this is a gift of the Divine Spirit. I know that I owe so much to my mom for her time and patience in passing on to me a sense of worth in myself, a sensitivity to the plight of others, and the knowingness that the universe is guided by a Divine Source. I would not have one-tenth the wisdom and insight that I have now, if it wasn’t for my dear mom’s loving guidance.

I was a bit of a handful when I was a very young child. In 1956, at the age of three, one time when my mom and dad went out for a while and Grandma and Grandpa Mabey had come over to watch me, I snuck off into the kitchen as my grandparents were watching television. I got out the little step ladder that was kept between the stove and the refrigerator. I unfolded the little ladder and climbed up and reached up and got the kitchen clock. As Grandma and Grandpa were watching television, I took apart the kitchen clock with my little “Handy Andy Tool Case.”

Needless to say, when Grandpa came into the kitchen to see what I was up to, he wasn’t very happy. My grandfather was a wonderful man, but the good Lord didn’t give him much of a sense of humor, especially when it came to three year old grandsons taking apart the kitchen clock.

I remember Grandpa saying, “wait till your mommy and daddy get home!” When mom and dad got home, mom convinced my dad that I should get off easy. I remember my dad turning seven shades of red and then saying to my mom, “alright, I guess we needed a new clock anyway.” Mom smiled at me. I was glad I was off the hook.

I am so immensely grateful to my dear mom for providing me with a loving outlook on life, a sense of caring for other people, and teaching me to believe in myself. It’s a debt I can never pay back. Never.

Life is short. Find your true calling. Love one another.

Peace and harmony,

Richard

This entry was posted in 1956, Dad, Dicky Jim, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Grandma Mabey, Grandpa Mabey, Homecoming, Humility, Kindness, Love of Family, Mabey Homestead, Memory. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Blessing of Purpose

  1. Taking a clock apart a three is pretty smart thing for a three year old!

    • I remember that I had this “Handy Andy” tool kit. I remember taking things apart and then trying to put them together. I know it was when we lived in Clifton. I’ve been trying to find a picture of my old “Handy Andy” tool kit. Maybe I was four. You’ve got me thinking about that.

Leave a Reply

