When It’s Time To Move On

#1 Richard's Desk

From my desk, in my home in Central Florida, I have written well over a thousand articles.

When It’s Time To Move On

By Richard Mabey Jr.

You know it in your heart. It will quietly speak to you in the roar of a lion. You’ll feel it in the marrow of your being. You just know when your purpose some place is complete and it is time to move on. You just know it.

#2 Richard CROPPED

Writing articles and editing for “The Diabetic Journal” was very dear to my heart.

From my humble desk, in my home in Central Florida, I have written well over a thousand articles. For a few years, I wrote for a local small town weekly, until it went out of business. It was a sad day, for sure. Then, for a few years, I served as the Editor-in-Chief of the monthly newsletter for The Villages Diabetic Support Group. This is one of the largest diabetic support groups in all of Central Florida. The newsletter had a very large circulation.

#3

#4

#5

During my residency here in Central Florida, I took a stand for workers’ rights; which led to a hard-hitting interview for a local TV station’s news hour.

I know that quite a few of my readers believe that corporate management is fair to its workers. I know that some of you believe that the wage system in America is fair. With all due respect, I strongly disagree. During my time of living here in Central Florida, I took a hard-line stand for some issues on behalf of the workers of a privatized gated community. It led to my being interviewed for a local television station’s news hour.

During this interview, my pulse raised, my heart pounded, and inwardly I shook like a leaf. But I stayed true to the cause. I didn’t flinch. I didn’t bow down. I stood strong. If you truly believe that corporate management plays fair and square with their workers, then respectfully, I have a wonderful bridge in Brooklyn to sell you.

#6 Richard, Gate Guard

For five years, I worked as a humble Security Guard for a gated community in Central Florida.

During my time, down here in Central Florida, I worked for five years as a humble Security Guard for a gated community. At times the thermometer would rise above the 100 degree mark, as I stood outside my Gatehouse for the entire shift. I wasn’t always treated fairly. A lot of the time, I had to deal with extremely rude visitors and residents; who would swear at me for no reason at all.

I was sincerely and earnestly doing my utmost best to do my part to keep this particular gated community safe and sound for its residents. But, truth be told; very, very few of the residents ever showed the least appreciation for my dedication and hard work. I guess that’s just the way of our modern society.

#7 Richard Speaking 9-15-11

I often gave talks at social groups and various clubs, on the theme of finding the greatness within yourself.

And then, I often gave talks to social groups and various clubs on the theme of finding the greatness within yourself. I basically tried my best to convey the concepts that a person can rise above negative situations and climb to great heights of success and accomplish wonderful things. And, this I would often highlight; regardless of how old a person may be, they still can accomplish great milestones.

But alas, I must confess that there is something calling me. I can’t put my finger on it, but I can hear the distance murmur of a call to another place, another purpose. I don’t know exactly what it is, but I have this strong feeling that my work here in Central Florida is complete. It’s hard to explain, but when you get that gentle whisper in your heart; telling you it’s time to move on, there’s just no denying it.

Life is such a strange thing. Such a very strange thing.

This entry was posted in Be Strong!, Believe in yourself!, Determination, Dreams, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Giving, Kindness, Leadership, Life's Dreams, Memory, Moving On, Never give up!, Small Town Weekly Newspaper, Spiritual Lesson, Stand Tall, Wisdom, Workers' Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When It’s Time To Move On

  1. Yeah, i think you have pretty much done your best in Florida; its time to move on to greener pastures.

Leave a Reply

