My Dad, My Favorite Guest Star

1 Dad on Cross-Talk 1

It was always a blast to have my Dad as a guest star on Cross-Talk.

My Dad, My Favorite Guest Star

By Richard Mabey Jr.

The sun has set on Memorial Day. I missed my Dad, so very much, all day today. Memorial Day was always special to Dad and I. On the Sunday before Memorial Day, we would both march with the scouts in the Lincoln Park Memorial Day Parade. Dad was Scoutmaster of Boy Scout Troop 170. I was an Assistant Scoutmaster. Oh, how I miss my Dad.

2 Dad on Cross-Talk 2

The local newspapers loved it when Dad was to be an upcoming guest on Cross-Talk.

Then, on Memorial Day itself, Dad and I would get up at the break of dawn. After breakfast, we would drive out to the cemetery, where our relatives were all buried and spend the entire morning raking and cleaning the old Mabey gravestones. It was a solemn time for both of us.

3 Dad and Richard

Dad and I in 1996, when we won “Best TV Talk Show” of the entire Cable Television Network of New Jersey.

Today, I thought about the good old days, when I would have Dad on my old TV talk show, Cross-Talk. Dad was always a great guest. My father was a very charismatic man. He had such a charm and wit about him. Plus, he was a natural in front of the camera. We would kid around and joke around. It was like we had forgotten that there were three cameras filming us and we were sitting on Andy Griffith’s front porch, just talking and kidding around. Oh, how I loved my Dad.

4 Dad Scoutmaster

A photo of my Dad from his days as Scoutmaster of Boy Scout Troop 170.

Mostly, Dad would talk about his scouting days, when he was a guest on Cross-Talk. He loved to talk about scouting. He’d tell little stories about our days of camping, canoeing and hiking. This is a cold hard fact: we got the most fan mail right after Dad appeared on Cross-Talk, than any other guest we ever had on.

5 Dad, New Scout Flag

A newspaper clipping from September of 1974, showing Dad with the new Troop 170 scout flag.

The viewing audience loved my Dad. And, he loved reading the fan mail that came in. Most of the letters were written by Dad’s former scouts. Although Dad always corrected me when I would say former scouts. Dad would always correct me and say, “once a scout in Troop 170, always a scout in Troop 170.” Oh, how I miss my Dad.

6 Dad & I Scouts

A picture of Dad and I when I was just 12 years old.

I’m tired, weary and worn. I just took a break from writing this little blog and had a good cry. They were such good times, my Dad and I shared together. My Dad was such a good man. Dad was a deeply religious man. I loved him very much.

7 Dad Scoutmaster

A great photo of Dad in his early sixties, still young at heart.

I’d give one of my eye teeth to just have five minutes to talk to my Dad once again. I miss him so. Please don’t take your loved ones for granted. Got a beef with a loved one? Please, let it go. Give them a call, let bygones be bygones. Life is too short to hold grudges. Truly, life is too short to hold grudges.

This entry was posted in Appalachian Trail, Be Strong!, Believe in yourself!, Boy Scouts, Christianity, Cross-Talk Television Talk Show, Dad, Determination, Dreams, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Forgiveness, Giving, Homecoming, Humility, Leadership, Life's Dreams, Lincoln Park, Love of Family, Mabey History, Memory, Small Town America, Spiritual Lesson, Stand Tall, Troop 170, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

