My Tribute and Thank You to Dennis Keaveny

#1 Dennis Keaveny

A recent photo of Dennis Keaveny.

My Tribute and Thank You to Dennis Keaveny

By Richard Mabey Jr.

Dennis Keaveny doesn’t know it, but he played a big role in advancing my career as a writer. Here’s the thing, I’ve never met Dennis. We are Facebook friends. But, I’ve never met Dennis.

It was back in 2001, I was writing for Life and Leisure newspaper. I wrote mostly feature stories, human interest kind of things. At any rate, one day, Dennis took the time out of his busy schedule to write my editor and say some nice things about my contribution to Life and Leisure.

Well, it was shortly after that, that a miracle happened. For me, it was one of my lifetime dreams, come true. I was offered to write a regular column for Life and Leisure newspaper. My column was titled, “Straight from the Heart.” It really did give my writing career, a huge boost.

In fact, when I moved to the Chambersburg area of Pennsylvania, I got a job as a writer at the big daily newspaper, Public Opinion. My column, “Straight from the Heart” played a big role in my getting that job!

And, basically it was all a domino effect. And it all began with a very kind-hearted letter that Dennis Keveany had written to my editor at Life and Leisure.

Dennis Keveany’s story of his kind spirit doesn’t end there. Fast forward to the present time. Just yesterday, I got a Facebook message from Dennis telling me that he had given a talk about my great uncle, Earl Mabey. I was so humbled!

Dennis is a big wheel at Mercedes Benz. Catch the pun. Well, Dennis wrote me that he recently had given a talk to some of his fellow employees of Mercedes Benz. And, in his talk, he spoke of the courage of my great uncle, Earl Mabey.

#2 Great Uncle Earl in army

But more than that, Dennis did not just give a talk to his fellow employees about the heroism of Earl Mabey, Dennis included overhead photos to go with his speech. I was so deeply honored!

#3 Earl Mabey

Dennis wrote me that he included the famous picture of Earl Mabey, standing beside his motorcycle to go with his presentation. I can’t put into words how much that meant to me. That is absolutely, one of my most favorite family pictures. And, to think it was shown in a professional presentation in front of an audience of executives at the prestigious Mercedes Benz company.

I wonder if dear Great Uncle Earl had any idea how many people would be destined to see that picture of him standing beside his Indian Motorcycle, when it was first taken?

#4 Earl's Meadow

Also, Dennis wrote me that he included an overhead photo of Earl’s Meadow, located along Mabey Lane in Lincoln Park. This was the very field where I played baseball when I was a kid. This was the field that was decreed to be the place where Great Uncle Earl would build his home, when he came home from World War I.

Sadly, Great Uncle Earl never returned home from the war. He was killed in battle.

So, I send to Dennis Keveany, my most heartfelt thanks. There are not enough words to convey how much his acts of kindness mean to me. And, how positively they have affected my life.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you Dennis Keveany!

This entry was posted in Central Pennsylvania, Dennis Keaveny, Determination, Dreams, Earl Mabey, Earl's Meadow, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Homecoming, Life's Dreams, Lincoln Park, Memory, Never give up!, Newspapers, Old Beavertown, Small Town America, Spiritual Lesson, Stand Tall, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Tribute and Thank You to Dennis Keaveny

  1. Cynthia says:

    What an amazing story.

Leave a Reply

