When You Hit A Roadblock!

1

When you hit a roadblock; never, never, never give up!

When You Hit A Roadblock!

By Richard Mabey Jr.

Life is tough. And, then sometimes life is very tough. Then, there are times when life is very, very tough. Then, there are those times when you simply hit a roadblock. That’s exactly the time when you must take a deep breath, find that courage that lies deep within your heart, and fight back and give it all you got!2

I know it sounds over simplified; but never, never, never give up! Never! Never, never, never give up! Personally, right now, I am going through the single worst writer’s block that I have ever experience in my lifetime. To be brutally honest, I am plagued with worry that my book will not be well received. Also, I am tired and weary of getting rejection slip after rejection slip from various book publishers.

3

Writer’s block is real. It’s not a joke. It’s far from being a joke. I’m not a man who is drawn to write spy novels. I am not a man who is drawn to write the va-va-voom novel. You know, the type of novels that Gordon Lightfoot sang about all those years ago, “the kind the drugstore sells.” I’m not drawn to writing science fiction.

4

The plain truth of the matter is that my writings have been always drawn on true-to-life experiences. I try my best to find the charm, the splendor and the glory in the mundane and ordinary aspects of life. I draw upon what it was like to grow up in a small town; having had my childhood in the 1950’s and my days of teenage youth in the 1960’s. Basically, I’m drawn to the truth and essence of dear old Mayberry folks.

5

A lot of book publishers today, do not even accept unsolicited manuscripts. They want to publish books that have been written by the big cheese hosts on Fox News. Or, they want to publish a “tell all” book, written by a big celebrity. It seems that the days of good writing, like that of Thomas Wolfe and Earl Hamner Jr., are sadly no longer in vogue with our modern society. Today, people want each to page to sizzle with steamy scenes. I think you know what I mean. I don’t mean to be crude here, but it just seems to be the way of our modern world.

6

Basically, I think to myself, that the NEXT publisher might be the ONE! It just might happen. I’ll be brutally honest, I don’t have the greenbacks to self publish my book. I did put up a huge portion of my comic book collection on the auction block, but sadly it just didn’t bring in that much dough. I felt sick about it.

7

At 62, I tell myself over and over again, “don’t give up, don’t give up, don’t give up! Just keep writing! JUST KEEP WRITING!!!!” It’s a changing world. Personally, I don’t think that it’s changing for the better. I know I’ll take a beating for this one, but just look at the slate of who is running for PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA! I ain’t waving a flag for either party. All, I’m saying is that the candidates are a true reflection of the state of mind of our present day culture.

8

To all the struggling artists, writers, photographers, creative minds, artistic hearts; please never give up! NEVER GIVE UP!

This entry was posted in Determination, Dreams, Earl Hamner Jr., Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Humility, Life's Dreams, Small Town America, Spiritual Lesson, Thomas Wolfe, Wisdom, Writer's Block. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When You Hit A Roadblock!

  1. Great advice and a message I needed to hear. Thank You, Richard.

  2. Arcturas, Thank you for all your kind support of my blog. I appreciate it very much.

  3. ackermari says:

    Sounds like you found out the same thing many others have. We hold on to collections from our younger days with the hope / belief that it will finance something worthwhile in our golden years. Sadly, it usually ends in disappointment. I had a friend who believed her Grateful Dead album collection would pay for her children’s college education. Apparently thousands of others thought the same thing! And an auction is such a gamble. I feel for you.

Leave a Reply

