The Old Fashioned, Mechanical Typewriter

2000

In the left hand side of this picture, you can see the old mechanical typewriter that I once used to type my many articles on the history of Lincoln Park.

The Old Fashioned, Mechanical Typewriter

By Richard Mabey Jr.

My old fashioned mechanical typewriter is alive and well. It brought me great relief to see it in one of the most recent photos, showing the interior painting for the Lincoln Park Museum. I had thought for sure, that it had gotten thrown out. I am so glad to see that it is still there.

3-12-16

In the lower left hand corner, of the above photo, you can see my old fashioned mechanical typewriter. When I saw it in the photo, it was like becoming reacquainted with an old friend. Sure, it’s great to type articles and stories on a state-of-the-art computer. But nothing beats the feeling of typing out a story on an old fashioned mechanical typewriter. I’m hoping and praying that it is saved for posterity.

One of the biggest challenges of my writing career came in the early Spring of 2002. I was working full time, as a copywriter, for a local advertising agency. At the same time, I was moonlighting as a writer for the Weekly News. At the Weekly News, my editor was Judy L. Simply put, she was a great and wonderful editor!

#3a

At any rate, Judy asked me to write a series of about 20 articles on the history of Lincoln Park, for an upcoming pull-out section on the history of the Hook Mountain Region. Well, all of the articles that I wrote for that historical pull-out section were typed on that dear, old fashioned mechanical typewriter.

#4a

Of course, one of the toughest challenges was to write a feature story about my beloved Great Uncle Earl who was killed in battle, in France, in World War I. I was so close to the subject. It was something that was close and dear to my heart. The whole time that I was writing this article, I was worried whether or not I would give due credit to my beloved great uncle.

Also, I was worried about whether or not I would be accused of nepotism by my critics. And, of course I did get criticized a LOT, by a LOT of people, regarding the publication of the tribute to my dear Great Uncle Earl. But, hey, that’s life. People are people.

When all is said and done, the bottom line is this: I am so glad that my old fashioned mechanical typewriter is alive and well. I hope and pray it remains an integral part of the Lincoln Park Museum. I have this vision of some young writer, knocking out articles about the history of Lincoln Park, on that very same old fashioned typewriter!

This entry was posted in Determination, Dreams, Earl Mabey, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Heroism, Hook Mountain, Life's Dreams, Mabey History, Memory, Newspapers, Old Beavertown, Small Town America, Small Town Weekly Newspaper, The Weekly News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

