Remembering Gidget

# Gidget in Earl's Meadow

Gidget, proudly sitting up on a cold autumn day at Earl’s Meadow.

Remembering Gidget

By Richard Mabey Jr.

This is a rather simple blog. Today, I thought a lot about my old Shetland Sheepdog, Gidget. We had Gidget from 1983 till 1996. She was a gentle and faithful dog.

In 1984, at the age of 30, I successfully fought my second bout of rheumatic fever. By October of 1984, I was allowed to take short walks. This was a big step, as I had been in the hospital for quite a long time. Also, I had had strict bed rest for just about a full year.

In the mornings, I would take Gidget for a walk around the backyard of the old Mabey Homestead. We would also walk down to Earl’s Meadow, which was a little bit farther down from my old homestead. Sometimes, I would take Gidget for a walk in the nearby forest.

I always put a coat on Gidget when it was cold out. I think that she appreciated that. She was a very sensitive dog. And, she was extremely smart.

Gidget played a big role in my healing. I would also take her for a walk about four o’clock in the afternoon. It was a special time.

Today, I pictured Gidget and Foxy running about in an open field by the Rainbow Bridge. They were both faithful and loyal Sheltland Sheepdogs. They were both kind, loving and smart pups.

This entry was posted in Determination, Earl's Meadow, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Friendship, Gidget, Homecoming, Kindness, Mabey Homestead, Memory, Spiritual Lesson, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

