To Build A Cross

Richard Building Cross

It was in the early 1990’s that I built a wooden cross at the outdoor chapel of my old church.

To Build A Cross

By Richard Mabey Jr.

It was in the early 1990’s that I noticed that the cross in the outdoor chapel of my church in Old Beavertown was rotting away. Sadly, it had gotten infested with insects. Simply put, it was in very bad shape.

I talked to my minister about building a new cross for the outdoor chapel. He gave me the green light. At the time, I was working in the public relations department of a large telecommunications company. So, I only had Saturday to build a new cross for the garden chapel.

I got up early one autumn Saturday morning. I cut down a sapling in the woods behind my house. Something, that to this very day, I have regrets about. At any rate, I cut the sapling into two pieces; one long and one short. I put the cut sapling logs in my car and drove down the mile of road to my old church.

I spent nearly an entire day building the cross, making sure it had a good footing. In general I wanted it to be a humble centerpiece for the garden chapel. Well, the next day, I learned a valuable lesson. Simply put, you can’t please everyone.

During church coffee hour there was a significant number of people who voiced unkind criticism about the newly built cross in the outdoor garden chapel. Well, the truth of the matter is that it did hurt my feelings. But then, that’s life.

Here’s the bottom line: often times when you do something good, when you reach out and give kindness, when you decide to take the bull by the horns and work to uplift and inspire, be prepared for criticism. I’m not being negative here, it’s just the way it is. Some people are natural critics. And, they really don’t care if their words of criticism hurts your feelings.

Please do go forward with courage. Be kind. Care for one another. Do good deeds. Simply put, love one another. And, do your best to let the words of your critics go in one ear and out the other.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Leadership, Memory, Moving On, Old Beavertown, Old Beavertown Christian Church, Spiritual Lesson, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

