Remembering Jack Floyd Sr.

# Jack's Klondike Patch 1984

The famous 1984 Boy Scout Klondike Derby patch that Jack Floyd designed.

Remembering Jack Floyd Sr.

By Richard Mabey Jr.

Jack Floyd Sr. served as an Assistant Scoutmaster for Lincoln Park Boy Scout Troop 170, from 1963 till 1988. For a quarter of a century this fine gentleman touched the lives of hundreds of scouts. Simply put, Jack was a great man!

Recently, in going through my old scout patches, I came across the rare 1984 Klondike Derby patch that Jack designed. I can’t explain the memories that it brought back to me. Jack designed a few dozen patches for the Boonton District and the Morris-Sussex Area Council. Jack was a true artist. He had a very creative mind.

LPJ 4, Dad and Jack

Jack received the Assistant Scoutmaster of the Year Award in 1987. It was the same year that my dad received the Scoutmaster of the Year Award. It was fitting that they both received these highly distinguished awards together. My dad and Jack Floyd were the Andy Griffith and Don Knotts of scouting. They were best friends. They loved scouting. They loved Boy Scout Troop 170.

I had the distinct honor to write the front page story for the old Lincoln Park Journal, when Dad and Jack received these highly honorable awards. What amazed me so much about my dad and about Jack, is that they both were so humble about receiving these high honors. They were two of the greatest men that I have ever known in my life.

LPJ 12, Jack Floyd

During the summer of 1987, Jack moved to Tennessee. It was a sad day to say the least. Troop 170 honored Jack with a special dinner. It was sad saying goodbye to this scouting legend. Once again, I had the high honor to write a feature story about Jack. My story, honoring Jack’s great contributions to scouting and to Lincoln Park, made the front page.

Jack Floyd cooking

After having designed dozens of scout patches, one of the leading manufacturer of scouting patches requested to purchase the rights to Jack’s patches. That would have put quite a bit of folding money into Jack’s wallet. But, once again, Jack showed his love and dedication to scouting. Jack donated the entire bottom line amount to the Morris-Sussex Area Boy Scout Council.

170 Jack Floyd hike

Sadly, Jack went Home to be with the Lord, shortly after he moved to Tennessee. Jack was a great inspiration to me, in my service as a fellow Assistant Scoutmaster of Boy Scout Troop 170. Jack was like an uncle to me. I think about him a lot. He was a great man. I miss him very much.

This entry was posted in Boy Scouts, Dad, Determination, Dreams, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Friendship, Giving, Heroism, Humility, Jack Floyd, Leadership, Life's Dreams, Lincoln Park Journal, Memory, Old Beavertown, Small Town America, Spiritual Lesson, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

