The Thanksgiving Story, Part 4

Grandpa Mabey Jacksonville Rd

A photo of my Grandpa, Watson Mabey. This photo was taken when Grandpa was a young man in 1926, along Jacksonville Road in old Beavertown.

The Thanksgiving Story, Part 4

By Richard Mabey Jr.

I am working on a rewrite of the scene where Grandpa and I are sitting on the old fallen tree, on the path on our walk to the old Morris Canal. I may not get this continuing story done by Thanksgiving Day. In the next few days, before Thanksgiving Day, I will be working extra shifts, in my job as a Security Guard in this large gated community in Central Florida.

Yesterday, I met with an auctioneer to put a large portion of my comic book collection for auction. I plan on using that money to help pay for the price of self publishing my book. Hopefully, I’ll do well financially, selling my comic book collection.

A lot of them go back to the early and mid 1960’s. I bought most of them at Moe’s Sweet Shop in my old hometown of Beavertown, when I was a kid. They’re all 12 centers. Some are quite rare now.

I’m kind of sad to say goodbye to my comic book collection. But, I could use the money to help pay for the publication of my book. I’m 62 now. And, I’m not going to live forever.

I’d like to publish a hardcover edition of my book. But, if I don’t make enough dough on selling my comic books in this auction; I’ll settle for a soft cover edition.

Tomorrow, the extra shift madness starts. So, I’ll say Happy Thanksgiving to all my friends, reading this blog. I hope that we can still say Happy Thanksgiving to each and still be politically correct. Oh, actually, the truth is I’m tired of being politically correct.

I’ll be back in a week or two. When the extra shift madness is over. Till then, Happy Trails!

Peace and harmony,

Richard

This entry was posted in Determination, Dreams, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Gate Guard, Life's Dreams, Love of Family, Modern Life, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

