The Humble Life

Richard's Desk

My desk from where I write my blog and work on my novel.

The Humble Life

By Richard Mabey Jr.

These days I live a humble life, living in a gated community in Central Florida. I work the early afternoon to evening shift as a Gatehouse Security Guard for the gated community that I live in. I also walk and care for dogs and cats for folks in my neighborhood, when they are away. And, I write a regular blog and work faithfully on my novel.

In the past, I’ve worked on newspaper staffs. I once owned my own newspaper. For five years of my life, I hosted a weekly television talk show that was seen on the Cable Television Network of New Jersey. I spent about 10 years of my life working in the Public Relations Department of a huge international corporation. Then, I worked five years as a copywriter at an ad agency. I have been blessed to have five of my plays produced. But, those days are over.

The hustle and bustle of the corporate world, the hot deadline to write a feature story, and the demands of producing a weekly talk show are gone from my life. Now, I live in a modest ranch home with interesting neighbors and basically fill my time playing Marshall Dillon at my Gatehouse and also writing, writing and writing at my desk.

It’s a modest life. In some ways I miss the hustle and bustle. In some ways, I’m glad it’s behind me.

Sometimes I think to myself, “I’d like to have one more time at bat. I’d like to produce and host just one more television talk show.”

Sometimes I reflect upon, “if I had the chance to publish just one more issue of The Lincoln Park Journal what statements would I make?”

Life is funny. I try my absolute best to make the world just a little bit of a better place through writing a heart warming blog, with a positive message.

I try my absolute best to bring a loving touch to the lives of the cats and dogs that I care for.

Please, never underestimate the power of love. Never underestimate your positive contribution to the world. Don’t ever let anyone convince you that small acts of kindness are a waste of time in this cold, cruel world. Never give up on spreading the germs of love and kindness.

This entry was posted in Cross-Talk Television Talk Show, Dreams, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Gate Guard, Humility, Life's Dreams, Lincoln Park Journal, Memory, Modern Life, Moving On, Newspapers, Spiritual Lesson, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

