Working in Humble Service to Protect the Safety of Others

1 Richard Gate Guard

The public service of working as a Security Guard is humble work. It is basically a thankless job.

Working in Humble Service to Protect the Safety of Others

By Richard Mabey Jr.

I am presently working as a Security Gate Guard in a gated community in Central Florida. It is hard work. It is very humble work. It is basically a thankless job. The average resident of the community has no idea what is involved in keeping them safe and sound. They simply haven’t the foggiest notion of what is involved.

I don’t want to get fired from my job. So, I won’t relay to you just how involved and just how sophisticated the systems are that are utilized to keep John and Jane Doe resident safe and sound. Bottom line is this: there’s a lot to it.

Quite a few of the people who pass by Gate House are extremely unkind. You could even say that they are rude and mean. A Security Guard has to bite the bullet, smile, and simply say “have a nice day,” when a resident unjustly hollers at you for one thing or another. At times, some of the rude people can really test your patience.

I’m humbled by my job. For a while, I wrote articles and feature stories for a local weekly newspaper that served a few small towns, nearby where I live. Sadly, that local weekly paper went out of business a few years ago.

I know that some of you may not believe this, but age prejudice is real. I’m getting crow’s feet on the outer margins of my eyes. I’m getting some wrinkles on my forehead. And I’ve noticed that when I go in for a job interview, I don’t have that same “rah-rah, zim…boom….bang” high energy that I once had, just a few years ago.

I’ve gone to a few headhunters here in Central Florida. There was one young woman who interviewed me at one of these employment agencies, who was really careful how she conveyed the message to me that it may not be so easy for her to place me in a job, now that I’m older. Oh, yes, she was very careful how she told me that. But still, a person would have to have been dumber than a bucket of rocks, not to get what she was saying.

As she wrapped up our meeting, we shook hands and this young woman said to me, “Richard, really, it sounds like you rather enjoy working as a Security Guard. Maybe it isn’t such a bad job, well…..to stay at.” Wow! That made me feel really good. In case there’s any doubt, I mean that sarcastically.

When I worked at the ad agency, a fellow copywriter warned me about age prejudice. He was about 10 years older than me. When he got laid off, we kept in touch. I was still working at the ad agency when he e-mailed me that he took a job at one of those grand and glorious box stores, where they sell home improvement stuff.

Oh, there’s nothing wrong with working for a big box store. Nothing wrong with it all. But there is something wrong with having to have to take a job at a big box store because you are being passed up for a job in your field, for one reason and one reason only….they think you’re too old.

I keep on trying. I’m bull headed. I don’t take “no” for an answer. What can I say? I just wish one of these big television network news magazine shows would do an exposé on the truth about age prejudice.

Sorry to be so down. Discrimination isn’t always pointed at a person because of race, creed or color. Sometimes, a company big wheel deems that you’re just too old. Please don’t tell me that age prejudice isn’t real. I know it is.

Peace and harmony,

Richard

This entry was posted in Determination, Dreams, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Gate Guard, Humility, Modern Life, Spiritual Lesson, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Working in Humble Service to Protect the Safety of Others

  1. Ah, Richard, you are on a roll. Keep up the good work.

  2. joemanicone says:

    this is indeed, the greatest “dirty little secret” of our times…thanks for the guts to shine the light again on something that matters Rich!

Leave a Reply

