Reviving “Eagle Scout”

Box of Files

Reviving “Eagle Scout”

By Richard Mabey Jr.

I am going through the painful process of going through stuff, giving stuff away to nonprofit organizations, and throwing stuff out. At 61, it isn’t a bad idea to do this.

I came across my box of notes, type written chapters, and bits of scraps of papers with idea written on them in one of those banker’s boxes. For this was the research and completed chapters that I had written on a book that I thought might make publishing success. The book was tentatively titled Eagle Scout. It is a true-to-life account and remembrances of my own personal struggle to become an Eagle Scout.

Not to sound too sentimental, but when I read my completed chapters, sketches and notes, it brought tears to my eyes. For in this very banker’s box, were my original hand-written diaries of my day-to-day, week-to-week, and month-to-month struggles on my journey to earning Eagle Scout.

It was no easy road to say the least. I came into this world with a congenital heart defect and I had a serious one-year bout with rheumatic fever. I was truly, the unlikely candidate. None-the-less, through hard work, sweat, tears, and fiery determination; I did it, I earned the highest rank of the Boy Scouts of America, that of Eagle Scout.

Going through my old notes and completed chapters gave me such a boost. An idea came to mind. How could I not have seen this before? Basically, I have four books that I want to see published. The first is I Remember Dad. The second is a compilation of my short stories and essays. The third is a compilation of my poetry. And, the fourth is Eagle Scout.

I had been considering self publishing my book. But, I was finding more jack-in-the-boxes popping up than could be found in a 1950’s toy store. There were more asterisks, fine print, and conditions than you could imagine. And, the contracts would be difficult for a Philadelphia Lawyer to understand! Plus, there were too many hidden costs that were hiding behind every sentence and paragraph of the publishing house’s contract.

Eagle Scout is a story rich in the theme of determination. It is filled with the can-do, “nothing can stop me” attitude. I haven’t really looked at it, seriously looked at in 10 years. I had been working diligently on it. Then, sadly, my dad went Home to be with the Lord. It was then that I put all my focus and energy into writing I Remember Dad, to honor my beloved father. It hurts to admit this, but I received a stack of rejection letters from a long list of book publishers.

I think that from time to time, I might post a chapter from Eagle Scout. To all my good readers, who once had a dream and stored it away in an old banker’s box. Please do go back to that old box, open it up, and find the inspiration and courage to breathe new life into your old dream. For the old Disney song is true, “dreams can come true, they can happen to you!”

Peace and harmony,

Richard

This entry was posted in Boy Scouts, Determination, Dreams, Eagle Scout, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Leadership, Life's Dreams, Memory, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

