Yes, You Can Move Mountains!

Richard at UN 1

Richard at UN 2

Richard at UN 3

Yes, You Can Move Mountains!

By Richard Mabey Jr.

When I was nine years old and in the fourth grade, something very special happened in my life. My fourth grade teacher, Mrs. Jacobchick, took us on a field trip to Manhattan to take a tour of the United Nations. Never in my wildest dreams, did I ever think that 32 years later that I would be speaking at this incredible place.

In November of 1994, at the age of 41, the good Lord blessed me with an opportunity to do something that would help the starving children in Africa. While I wasn’t invited to a recording studio to sing a song to help raise money for starving people in Africa, I did have a chance to play a very real positive role in convincing some of the world’s top leaders to place a high priority for food distribution to starving Africans.

I had worked with comedian Dick Gregory on several public relations projects for the telecommunications company that I was working for at the time. Mr. Gregory also made a guest appearance on the television talk show, “Cross-Talk,” which I also worked for. As if the odds were ten million to one, Mr. Gregory asked me to be Master of Ceremonies for a very important program, which was to be held at the United Nations in front of top world leaders. Naturally, I had to pinch myself because I thought I was dreaming. I wasn’t.

It was a blast. It was a dream come true. This country boy from a small Mayberry in northern New Jersey was given a chance to present information to some top world dignitaries about the hunger problem in Africa.

I have to confess that a half-hour before the program began, in this tiny little prep room, my stomach was flipping. I was shaking like a leaf. I was practically going into a cold sweat. This was the big leagues of making a change in the world, a change for the better. A lot was resting on how well I would do.

At one point, I remember that I looked in the mirror, with only ten minutes before “curtain time.” I said a simple prayer, “Lord please help me. Dear Lord give me courage to do this.”

As soon as I got out to the podium, I looked out to that big audience of high dignitaries, I can’t explain it but I was okay. I think that I did a pretty good job that night. For me, a dream came true. After the program was over, I got to shake hands with some real big shots in the scheme of world politics. All the time I kept saying to myself, “I can’t believe they’re thanking me for my part in the evening’s program.” I have to confess that I was a little star struck that night.

Well, here’s the bottom line to all of this. If a country boy from a small Mayberry in New Jersey can get the opportunity to talk at the United Nations before hundreds of world dignitaries, on behalf of starving people in Africa. You can do amazing things also!

Don’t ever limit yourself! Don’t ever put yourself down! Dream big! Think big! You can move mountains! You can help thousands, no millions of people, who are in desperate need of help; if you simply believe in yourself!

To all my good readers, please don’t limit yourself. Go out and set the world on fire, stand up for what you believe in. Work hard to help others!

Peace and harmony,

Richard

This entry was posted in Determination, Dreams, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Giving, Leadership, Life's Dreams, Memory, Modern Life, Wisdom, World Hunger. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

