Reflecting the Past to See Future Goals

Life Fulfillment

Reflecting the Past to See Future Goals

By Richard Mabey Jr.

In the past few weeks, I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting of my life. I want to be very careful here. Basically, I have such a strong feeling in my heart and mind that I’m done with Central Florida. The whole gated community thing to me, is played out to the max. I work for the Security Division of a gated community, so I will say this. There are good points to living in a gated community. But for me, it’s no longer grooving for me.

At the dawn of the new millennium, I began intensely reading and studying writings of authors of various mind science theories. These philosophers, writers and religious revolutionaries included: Claude Bristol, Harold Sherman, Joel Osteen, B. J. Palmer, Norman Vincent Peale, and Jesus of Nazareth. I seriously contemplated the question: is there a relationship between a person’s inner mental attitude to how things are going in their day to day life?

At the same time, a small group of artists and creative types, began meeting at the public library in my old little Mayberry in New Jersey. Originally there were only six or seven of us. All of the rest of the group were quite a bit younger than me. At the time, I was in my late forties. Most of the other folks were in their mid-twenties to late-thirties. I was deeply honored when they chose me to be the leader of the group. An honor that I still treasure and cherish.

One lady, in our group, was interested in working with pottery. One gentleman, who was part of the group, was very much interesting in cutting a record with his combo. Another lady was interested in painting with water colors. Another woman was interested in photography. But we all had the same basic question: is there a relationship between a person’s mental attitude and their personal achievement in pursuing success in an artistic or creative endeavor?

There was a premise, to our group, that there is a guiding intelligence working within all living things. The basic instinct of life, if you will. We never got into theology per say, or doctrines of any specific religion, or even presented a dogmatic point of view. Ironically, we got static from several visitors who were upset by delving into the possibility of an inner guidance system which worked within all of us to help us succeed in life. Then, there were some visitors who felt that we should have presented a stronger religious perspective. Sadly, this static created problems for us.

No need to go into the politics of it all. Ironically, freedom of speech was inhibited. That’s all I’m going to say about it. It’s in the past.

But here is what I’ve been dwelling on a lot today, especially while I was at work. Touching the hearts and minds of young people is important to me. For several decades, I worked as a scout leader. For several decades, I worked as a church youth group advisor and Sunday School teacher in several churches. It was so simple when it hit me.

I know it’s important to minister to the elderly. You won’t get any argument from me about that. But, today, I realized what has been making me a bit sad. I miss working with young people. The gated community that I live in, only allows older folks to live in it. My heart was crying to once again, minister to young people. It was all so obvious. I thought to myself today, how could I have missed that?

Each and every one of us has a ministry to fulfill. Even if you don’t believe in a Divine One, you know in your heart that you have strong inclinations as to how you want to serve and help other people.

One key to happiness in life is to be true to our own personal calling. To be true to the whisper in one’s heart. To be true to oneself.

Love one another. Forgive others. Choose to compliment others rather than put them down. Be kind to other people. Be kind to animals. For as John Lennon sang to us all them years ago, “love is all you need.”

Peace and harmony,

Richard

This entry was posted in Determination, Dreams, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Forgiveness, Friendship, Giving, Good Neighbor Sam, Leadership, Life's Dreams, Memory, Modern Life, Moving On, Spiritual Lesson, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

