For Richard McC: Prayers for Healing

Richard McC

For Richard McC: Prayers for Healing

by Richard Mabey Jr.

Tonight, there is a heaviness in my heart. My good friend, Richard McC announced that he will need to have a full blown heart transplant. I found out this morning. All day long, I thought about Richard McC’s condition. I have earnestly prayed for him, many times today.

Richard McC was the Senior Patrol Leader of Boy Scout Troop 170 during the era of the late 1970’s. During his tenure as Senior Patrol Leader, he led the scouts to win several Klondike Derbies, District Wide Camporees, and District Rallies.

Richard McC was like a big brother to the scouts of Troop 170. In many ways, it was a role that he was destined to fulfill. You see, Richard is the eldest son in his family. He has two younger brothers. All three of the McC boys were in Boy Scout Troop 170. All three were outstanding scouts.

I am honored to say that I served as an Assistant Scoutmaster of Troop 170 during this time period. I worked with my dad in scouts. My dad had the honor of serving as Scoutmaster of Boy Scout Troop 170 for over 30 years. Dad would often say that Richard McC was a natural leader, that he could lean on Richard McC. Dad held great faith in Richard McC.

As the troop’s Senior Patrol Leader, Richard McC had a good blend of being a scout who liked to have fun, but at the same time took his role as SPL very serious. He set a good example for the other scouts. He was a good instructor. He taught the scouts to respect nature, he taught them how to cook, and he taught them the essentials of first-aid.

Today, Richard McC is both a father and a grandfather. It’s hard to believe that so much time has gone by. It seems like only yesterday that he was calling the scouts to fall in for the opening ceremonies of a Friday night scout meeting.

After I finish writing this blog, I’ll pray some more for Richard McC. If you believe in the existence of a Divine One, please pray for Richard McC. I’m lost for words to convey the depth of my concern for this fine gentleman.

Peace and harmony,

Richard

This entry was posted in Boy Scouts, Dad, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Friendship, Giving, Leadership, Memory. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

