Farewell to My Old Drum Pad

Image

Farewell to My Old Drum Pad

by Richard Mabey Jr.

 

Yesterday I gave a lot of my old stuff to Good Will, including a lot of old shirts and pants. Foremost in the boxes of stuff, the very things that caused reflection and sadness in my heart to give away, was my old drum pad, about eight or nine sets of old drum sticks and my entire collection of drum lesson books ranging from beginner to intermediate to advanced drum lessons. It may sound corny, but I know a lot of my drummer friends will understand, it caused a bit of sorrow in my heart to say goodbye to my collection of old drum stuff.

I’ve had my old drum pad now for 51 years, since I was nine years old and in the fourth grade. My drum lesson books are a diary of my drum playing skill, ranging from the fourth grade through my senior year of high school. Yesterday, when I was flipping through the pages of my old drum lesson books, it brought me back to a simpler time. The truth of the matter is that I haven’t looked at my old drum lesson books for about five years, maybe longer.

It’s my hope and prayer that my collection of drum lesson books, drum sticks and my old drum pad will go to a boy or girl who is just stepping onto the path of beginning to learn how to play the drums. Giving away my collection of drum stuff was filled with mixed emotions. On the one hand, it was all very sad. Yet, on the other hand, there was this sense of joy and quiet happiness that my old drum pad, drum sticks and stack of drum lesson books will once again be put to good use.

There are times when we reach crossroads and we need to let go of cherished items. It’s not necessarily easy, but with love in our hearts, we can pass on those cherished items to someone who will learn from them, be enriched from them, and grow in their own path of artistic development. Alas, the circle of life.

Peace and harmony,

Richard

 

This entry was posted in Drums, Encouragement, Faith, Giving, Humility, Memory, Moving On, Spiritual Lesson, Uncategorized, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

