Kindness

kindness

One of the jobs, that I am presently working at, involves playing a role in the security division of a gated community. I do my best to use this job as a medium to bring a bit of joy and upliftment to others. I have to put the cards on the table here, it’s not easy. A lot of times I send out good will, share a positive thought, and do my utmost best to keep a smile. Some of the time people will come back at me with unkind words.

One of the techniques that I use to clear my heart and mind from any negativity, that comes from some of the people I deal with, is to command my inner being to “clear the negativity and refocus on the positive.” Amazingly, most of the time it works. I simply cannot carry over the hurt and pain, from having someone shout out a swear word at me, to the next person that I see or deal with. To truly be an effective medium for positive energy, it’s vital that I clear out any negativity that was presented to me by someone else.

I had to work Easter Sunday. It was a drag, but duty called. For one moment, on the Saturday night before Easter Sunday, I contemplated calling in sick. If you are my boss and you are reading this blog, please note that I wrote “CONTEMPLATED” calling in sick and it was only for 20 seconds. Well, maybe a minute and half.

At any rate, Easter Sunday came and I was at work, working hard to do my part to keep things safe and sound in this gated community. On the outside I put on a great big smile, but I the inside I wasn’t that happy. Then, lo and behold, a friend came along and shared an encouraging word of kindness and gave me some Easter candy in a plastic bag. Among the Easter candy was one of those Reese’s peanut butter cup chocolate eggs, made out of white chocolate. Great gift! You can only get the Reese’s white chocolate peanut butter cups at Easter time!

The bottom line is that this really isn’t about white chocolate, or peanut butter cups, or dealing with what a drag it is to work on Easter Sunday. Instead, what I’m really focusing on saying is this: acts of kindness can have profoundly far-reaching positive affects upon people. Tomorrow, we’ll make some choices. We’ll choose whether to be kind to the people we meet and deal with, or we’ll choose to be less than kind to them. Pure and simple, the choice is all ours.

How far reaching is one simple act of kindness? The Riddler might ask Batman this question. And, somehow the echoes of dear old Adam West can be heard, “to the nth degree, Riddler!” Generally speaking, I’m doing fairly decent on getting readership on my blog these days. I’m averaging between 50 to 75 readers a day.

So basically, my friend who gave me the Reese’s white chocolate peanut butter cup egg, threw a pebble into a pond when she gave me the bag of Easter candy this past Easter Sunday. Because here I am writing about that one simple act of kindness in my blog, which 50 to 75 people will read about. Then, who knows what positive affect it may have upon them to continue the ripples to grow and grow in the golden pond of kindness.

All in all, I don’t fully understand why people choose to be rude and unkind to others. I just don’t get it. But, please know the remedy is simple. Clear out the negativity that anyone tries to bestow upon you, then fight back with the sword of a pure and loving heart and bestow acts of kindness to as many folks as you can. As dear old Stan Lee would end his Spider-Man comics, “nuff said!”

This entry was posted in Determination, Dreams, Easter, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Friendship, Giving, Humility, Life's Dreams, Modern Life, Spiritual Lesson, Stan Lee, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

