A Letter to My Friends

I decided to write this blog in the style as if I am writing a letter to a friend. When all is said and done that is really what I am doing most of the time in writing my blog.

It’s been a strange time. My friend Pat went Home to be with the Lord this past Thursday. He and I worked together on the executive board of the area diabetic support group. There are no words. Very sad time.

I met with some of the big shots of the local radio station. I was honored to have an audience with these folks to present my concept for my “Fond Memories” radio talk show, however they made it perfectly clear that they could not fit the program into their old time hits radio theme. My plan was to create a half-hour radio show where I would reminisce on a different theme each show on the subject of what it was like to grow up in a small town during the 1950’s and 1960’s. Alas, life goes on.

I’ve been obsessed with the work that the preparation for this presentation took. I thought for sure that the radio big shots were going to be interested in buying into the concept of my prospective radio show.

After much prayer and contemplation, I’ve decided to throw myself into finishing the writing of my book. I made a firm decision. I am going to self publish my book and market it locally to the small bookstores in Central Florida. At least, this is the plan for “Stage One.” I don’t quite know where I’ll take the plan for marketing and distributing my book after that. The main thing right now is to take things one step at a time.

I am so very humbled and grateful to all the recent emails that I have received in support of my blog. Also, I am so very appreciative of all the many private messages that I have received on Facebook, encouraging me to continue with my blog. Thank you, each and every one of you who took the time to send me kind words of encouragement during the past little break that I took from writing my blog. I am blessed to have such kind people in my life.

Well, I’ll be back on the blog scene once again. Apparently my destiny calls me not for the life of a radio personality. Still, I feel strongly that the good Lord is calling me to keep on writing. Hopefully, I’ll sell a few books!

With love and good will,

Richard

This entry was posted in Determination, Dreams, Encouragement, Faith, Finding Your Purpose in Life, Friendship, Humility, Life's Dreams, Modern Life, Moving On, Radio, Small Town America, Spiritual Lesson, Wisdom and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

