Letting Go Of Stuff From Another Era

I’m in the process of cleaning my closet. I presently have eight suits. I live in Central Florida and I hardly ever wear a suit. But, I’m holding on to my suits. My goal is to downsize to two suits, to keep my navy blue suit and my black suit. Then, give the remaining six suits to a local charity thrift shop along with about 50 ties.

The last time I had a job where I had to wear a suit every day to work, was my last job in New Jersey working for a Christian book publishing company. I can’t believe I carted these eight suits from North Jersey to Central Pennsylvania and then to Central Florida, along with my big collection of ties. I guess I was thinking that there would come a time when I would be in a job where I would have to wear a suit every day.

Still, I know how selfish this sounds, I’m having a hard time letting go of my suits. I look at my light brown suit and think of how much my old girlfriend, Linda, loved that suit. Linda is no longer in my life. It’s a long story, but she has moved on and so have I. But still I hold on to my old light brown suit because Linda loved it so much.

And then there’s my light blue suit. I used to wear it a lot when I gave talks about creative writing at local bookstores back in North Jersey. But those days are behind me now. I still give talks from time to time, here in Central Florida, but it’s a much more casual culture. Hence, the light blue suit just doesn’t fit the agenda any more.

I laid out the six suits, that I had planned on giving away to a local charity thrift shop, but I told myself that I really should have them dry cleaned before giving them away. But that wasn’t the truth of the matter. I’m still holding on to those suits for the memories they hold in my heart and mind.

I know this sounds crazy, but it’s as if memories are stored in the weave and fiber of those suits. I tell myself that the suits are just taking up valuable space in my closet, then I think, “what if I get a job at some place that requires wearing a suit every day?” Deep down, I know that’s not going to happen. Times have changed, and the culture of Central Florida is different from the culture of North Jersey. Then I think that the local charity shop could make a few bucks on my suits and use the money to help some needy folks.

I’ve got my mind set to bring the six suits to the local charity thrift shop before the end of this month. It’s embarrassing to admit my lack of enthusiasm to donate my old suits to a good cause. But then, confession is good for the soul. I’ll keep you posted on this.

With much good will, Richard

This entry was posted in Charity Thrift Shop, Giving, Memory, Moving On, Spiritual Lesson, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

