FIRST BLOG

This is the first blog that I have ever written in my entire life. I’ve written for television and for newspapers. And, spent five years of my life, working at an ad agency, writing copy for magazine ads.

I’ve had three of my plays produced. One of which was produced in New York City, Off-Broadway. I think that most people have the idea that being a writer is romantic career. It’s far from that. There’s unreasonable deadlines, those horrible times of fighting writer’s block, and of course there are the critics.

When I was in my late twenties, I wrote copy for brochures and trifolds for finger splints, and other first-aid supplies. The company that I worked for was a small company that manufactured finger splints mostly, but they did make some other first-aid supplies. I also wrote and edited the weekly company newsletter for their sales force that was scattered across the good old U. S. of A. I worked for that company for about five years. One day I simply quit and the very next day started my own newspaper.

It was a small town, weekly newspaper. I had a blast publishing it. I learned more from running that newspaper than a score of college professors could ever teach me about the newspaper business. Which brings me to a new philosophy that I am beginning to embrace. Essentially it is that practical experience, being an entrepreneur, worrying about how you’re going to pay bills, sometimes can teach a person more about any given field than spending hundreds of hours at the feet of even the most intelligent college professor. I’m not putting down getting a college education, but I think we may have lost sight of the importance of learning by doing.

It’s late. I promised myself that no matter what, I would start this blog today. So, alas, there is a heaviness in my eyes and my body cries for sleep. But, I promised myself I would do my all out best to make daily contributions to this ongoing blog.

Well, as dear old Stan Lee would say, Excelsior!

Till tomorrow,

Richard

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FIRST BLOG

  1. mrmarkls says:

    Welcome to the world of blogging! Good to see you writing for the world to see.

Leave a Reply

